A Retelling of Life

Driving Lessons

I woke up early today, excited to begin my road to independence. You see, I had decided that after nine years of holding a driver’s license, it was now time to actually drive. I had braved the long lines at the LTO to renew my dormant license, I had bought a car with my rent’s financial help, only one thing got in the way, I had to learn the skills. At 7:10 am, the instructor was nowhere to be found. I had a bad feeling about it, the fact that he was late smacked of unprofessionalism but I needed him as I have a desperate need to drive. I no longer like being dependent on people to drive me around. I hate having to wait to be picked up. I want life to happen at my own pace and that means being able to do as I please.

Suffice it to say that I didn’t quite enjoy my morning drive. I wasn’t ready to go on 3rd and 4th gear but my instructor made me. It made me feel uncomfortable as I wasn’t ready yet. I thought it was just me. There was something about him that I didn’t like but I just shrugged it off.
On the way back, he helped me park the car at home. We used the same path my boyfriend and I used just a few days ago. This time though, it wasn’t a worry free ride. I could see him expressing his exasperation at my less than stellar performance in shifting gears. Whereas I encountered no difficulty before, this time the car’s engine gave up on me several times. Still, I thought maybe the problem was with me and decided to give him the benefit of the doubt.
At the office, I compared notes with a co-worker who had just completed her driving lessons with their other branch located in the downtown area of Bacolod. She had signed up for 10 hour lessons and had just completed her 9th hour today. She expressed disbelief that the instructor had urged me go on 3rd and 4th gear on my 1st lesson. I’m changing instructors tomorrow. I’m not giving up yet. Please bless me with a good instructor tomorrow dear Lord. Help me get to “independence” day ASAP.
Leave a Reply

