A Retelling of Life

A Wedding in December


It is January now, hubby and I have been married for exactly 9 days now. We’re still amazed at how wonderful our wedding turned out to be. It was fun and relaxed, just the way hubby and I are.

We stuck to our budget and still managed to get the most amazing suppliers to work with us. It helps too to have a lot of support from family and friends. I still get teary-eyed when I think about how it all came together to be one fun wedding party. From the very start, we felt God’s hand in all our preparations. It was all so easy.
A lot of help also came in the form of blogs on weddings. This little blog is our little attempt to give back. We want all couples out there to know that a beach wedding need not be an exorbitantly costly affair. Enjoy!
11 responses

  1. Aileen

    You had the first Boracay wedding in both families. It was not easy to arrange it because of the distance but you both did it. Until now, I am still very happy about the outcome of your wedding. What made it more beautiful was the attendance of the very close family members and close friends as well. I found it a very meaningful and thankfully not so outrageous wedding party. We are glad that we were a part of it. God bless you both for more beautiful wedding anniversaries! Love and miss you both!

    February 1, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    • Hello Ng Aileen! Haven’t gotten the chance to respond to your post. Thanks so much too for all your help. It was amazing. Raymund and I are still going through the pix, they’re all so beautiful that it’s been exhausting trying to cut down the number for the official album. Hehe. How was the March birthdays in your family? I’m sure it was another enjoyable affair. *Sigh..Hope we get to see each other again soon. We miss you, Hayo and the kids. Love yah! Mwah!

      March 3, 2011 at 7:12 am

  2. ivana

    hello! congratulations, first of all! love the photo of the 2 of you jumping on the beach!
    we’ve set up a date to get married in boracay 27 dec 2011. i think your date was similar, this past year. i wanted to ask you about the weather. we will have many guests coming from very far. most would come with kids. i’ve been to boracay many times at the end of jan, the weather was always great. now that we booked the date already, the hotel told me that during this period it rains a lot. seems that your familes also came from a far. how was the weather? how long did your guests stay on the island? is it suitable to have our friends plan a 7 day holiday with kids or the weather will not permit a holiday? who helped you organize all so that your wedding was stress free and fun (we also want it to be low key).
    πŸ™‚
    thanks a million!, e

    March 3, 2011 at 6:40 am

    • Hello Ivana! Best wishes too! I’m super excited for you! =) I have to say that hotel is right, it does rain a lot in December. I’m not sure if you’re a believer but in any case, we offered a dozen eggs at a Carmelite monastery so it wouldn’t rain. I guess it worked because on our wedding day, we got our own perfect sunset (perfect for the pictures, anyway). However, it did rain sporadically the day before and during the morning of the 28th. Also, it drizzled a bit during dinner (we had a dinner reception), still, we all had fun. The drizzling stopped soon after dinner when the celebration formally began. We danced, played games, did the ceremonial toasts, etc. under a beautiful clear sky.

      In any case, even if it rains, the thing with a wedding is that you just go with it. Whatever happens, remember that it is your wedding day (something you’ll remember forever) and nothing–not even the weather should dampen your spirits. Anyway, the hotel always has a back up plan. (You could already check with them if they have tents etc. During the morning while it was still raining, (our wedding was at 4pm) the caterer asked us for the go signal to set up tents, we decided to just go with it and said no. Luckily for us, it turned out to be a good decision.)

      We actually organized everything ourselves. A month before the wedding, we scheduled a meeting with all our suppliers. We got Florista’s, a Manila based florist with a branch in Boracay to do our flowers for the entourage and the church, Quency’s for the venue and as our caterer (though Ms. Christy, the owner of Quency’s can also organize the church). I’m very lucky to have a very outgoing family and creative friends who did the hosting, centerpieces, vtrs, etc. Have you checked out the website “the knot”..got most of my ideas from them. If you want an organizer, I’ve heard that Amanda Tirol is one of the best so if you have the budget for that, then I suggest that you go to her. =)

      Guests – We made a wedding map for our guests with tips on where to go, what to do and where to eat. Most of our guests stayed for 3 to 5 days. 7 days would be perfect as your guests could just enjoy their holiday and not have to jam pack all activities in just a few days. Good luck to your wedding planning. Have fun at it. =) Val

      March 3, 2011 at 9:36 am

  3. Khristtine

    x

    July 26, 2011 at 5:04 am

    • Tine

      Hi Valerie, I’m also planning my wedding in Boracay on May 2012. I’m torn between having a wedding coordinator and just doing it myself with the help of my sister. When I read about your blog, it encourages me to have DIYs and ask for my family and friends assistance =)

      I just want to ask if you don’t mind list of your other suppliers like hair & make up, transfer (Caticlan-Resort-Caticlan) if you availed of any, and your wedding favors, any ideas? =)

      July 26, 2011 at 5:13 am

      • For Hair and Make Up, we got Nonoy. He’s from Iloilo and he did wonders for my short hair. I had a different do for the ceremony and for the beach reception. I’ll upload pictures so you’ll see. He’s really well known in Iloilo, it was a tita of my hubby (a wedding organizer but not ours as we had none hehe) who suggested him and we didn’t regret getting him. I recently lost my phone but will get his contact number from hubby. Re: wedding favors, for our sponsors we had lamps with a beach theme given out and candles with the same theme to our guests. We scoured the streets of Divisoria to find the perfect souvenirs. Considering that you still have almost a year to prepare, I think a DIY is doable.

        However, if you have more than 100 guests, you might want to consider getting an organizer, maybe even just for the day. First off, someone should take care of the church, lining up the entourage, taking care of the exit, ushering the guests to the venue, giving out the souvenirs. In our case, it worked without an organizer because our venue was just in front of the church. If it was a little further, transportation would have been a problem…as it was, our guests just walked to the venue. But, if you have a family who’s the “go type”, cousins and friends who can be counted on to work on their assignments, you’ll be able to do it without an organizer. I’ve been meaning to update this blog…I hope to download actual clips of our wedding too so you’ll get to see how it went.

        If you have other questions, email me at valerieparreno@gmail.com. πŸ™‚

        August 1, 2011 at 7:02 am

      • Hi Tin! Hope you got my email.

        August 25, 2011 at 11:44 am

  4. Ruth

    Hi I am so glad to have found your blog πŸ™‚ I am based in california and most of our guest are flying. I had some quesitons on your budget. Was it 30k PHP or USD? Our budget is no more than 30K USD, and this partially because we will be covering some of the reservations and want a 4day/3 night wedding since most of our guest will be from CA.
    I was thinking of hiring Amanda Tirol to coordinate this for me, but I am a big DYI here. I was wondering how realistic our budget is. Our tentive dates are 4-14-14 or 11-12-13. We will be in the Philippines this Oct-Nov to attend several weddings and wanted to get some early wedding planning in.
    Thanks so much, and congratulations!

    February 8, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    • Hello there! =) I’m pretty excited for you! I’m sure your budget will fit. I’ve heard rave reviews about Amanda Tirol so considering that you’re guests are flying in from Cali, it’s best if you have an organizer. Boracay is pretty troublesome if you don’t know your way. There’s the added hassle of providing transportation to and from your church and remember, it’s an island..it’d get crazy if you have to buy last minute stuff. An organizer will help a lot. After all, =) You can still fill in the DIY.

      Also, discovery weddings are pretty amazing..you can already ask them for their packages. I think, they can do everything without an organizer. But, please just ask. Their manager is a distant relation, his name is Jun Parreno. http://discoveryshoresboracay.com/celebrate/wedding.aspx

      You can also try Boracay Shangri-la if you want some quiet or Friday’s if you want your guests to be able to mingle with the rest of the Boracay crowd.

      Whatever resort you may choose, a Boracay wedding is something you and your guests will remember forever. If you have specific questions, email me at pech_parreno@gmail.com.

      Happy planning!

      =)
      Val

      February 13, 2012 at 3:15 am

  5. Alexyn

    I’ve read your blog several times already, checking for new details on your DIY wedding in Boracay.
    My boyfriend and I are planning to have a small (max 40pax), low key wedding in Boracay and we’d like to DIY it too. Actually the wedding will not be too soon, we’d want to have it to be on 2015. Given that we’re not expecting any help from our parents, I hope you can provide me detailed information on the things I need to prepare and do. I know that you’re busy and your help will be so much appreciated.

    We’d like to have a beach wedding ceremony and reception. I see that the resort where you held your big day was in Boracay Plaza – Beachfront Beach Resort and was arranged by Quency’s, may I know how much the venue rental fee and catering service fees are? For photo and video, who did you get and how much do they charge? I think we can work out having those information and I’d appreciate it much should you provide more which you think is relevant to have a successful DIY wedding in Borcay.

    Thank you so much in anticipation..

    January 26, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Leave a Reply

