A Retelling of Life

Falling in Love With the Law

Back when I was in law school, a mastery of the law was something I aspired to.  I was in love with the law. I found beauty in its complexities.  I breathed it.  I enjoyed dissecting opinions, drafting case briefs and going on Socratic journeys with my professors.

When I passed and joined a firm, I began to appreciate its application in the real world.  I loved the thrill of finding jurisprudence that was all fours with my own case.  I loved drafting legal memoranda, legal opinions, petitions for certiorari.  However, I didn’t like how work pervaded every part of my life.  I didn’t have real vacations as I’d have to check my email and reply to clients, despite being away from work.  I remember receiving calls while on the street, speaking with a very demanding client as I waited for a bus in HK.  It was very exacting work and it didn’t really give me the quality of life I desired.  Also, I was away from my family and RE (my then boyfriend, now husband).

I finally felt the compulsion to leave the firm in early 2009.  I applied and was accepted for a government job in my hometown.  September 2009 remains to be among the saddest months of my life. I said goodbye not just  to a firm, where I had spent a good 4 years of my early lawyer years but to the associates — friends, who to this day, I count to be among my soul sisters.

I will forever treasure that time in my life.  It was the season of my rebirth.  It was the time where I found out the person I wanted to be.  I was free to explore life, free from the constrictions of living in a small town.  I embraced travelling/backpacking, immersed myself in the arts (plays, museums, shows), “lived” in bookstores and became a “yes” girl (I grabbed all opportunities that came my way).  Before I left to come back home, I had accomplished what I had set out to do, I  found the version of  “me” that I loved.

I am now back in my hometown.  I have been for almost 2 years now.  It hasn’t been easy coming back home. In fact, my travails on this matter is material for an additional lengthy post.

I am now an aspiring master of laws student.  Being in the government service has its pros and cons but the most important thing it has given me is the luxury of time.  I am untouchable at 5pm on weekdays plus my weekends are absolutely my own to enjoy.  Of course, there are days when I decide to work late, but the decision is up to me.  There are no deadlines.  There is just my old self aiming to please even litigants and lawyers, wanting to finish work in “old RBG lawfirm” fashion.

I love being back in the academe.  I love being among a throng of people who care enough about the law, to study and discuss it.  I love having a professor who pushes me to demand more of myself.  I love having the opportunity for “eureka” moments.  I love having to fall in love with the law again.

My special thanks go out to our dear Lord up there and my loving hubby RE, who made this journey possible.

Yes to life! Yes to love! Yes to the law. =)

2 responses

  1. Tom Guno

    Hi Val,

    This is my first time to “comment” on someone else’s thought, or is this what you guys call “blog”, and am not sure if I’m doing it right.

    Just want to say I am glad you finally found time for yourself and Raymund. Savor it before you lose yourself again in your unequalled passion for the law.

    October 25, 2011 at 11:09 am

    • Sir! I’m so thrilled to read your “comment”. Haha. I’m actually working on a paper for our “Corporations in Distress” class. Just to put myself in the proper frame of mind, I’m imagining myself having to submit it for your review. Thanks for all help, Sir..I will forever have fond memories of RBG and working for you. 🙂

      October 27, 2011 at 6:38 am

Leave a Reply

