A Retelling of Life

A Daring Adventure

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.  To keep our faces toward change and behave like free spirits in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.” Helen Keller

I remember reading a book where the writer espoused the view that inspiration isn’t found, it is not something you look for.  He said that inspiration is something inside you, it is something that comes from within.  Today, I awakened to the truth of that statement.

All my life, I have been a restless soul.  For so long, I’ve been so worried about not having figured things out, about not knowing what I want from life.  I’ve fretted about dying before finding my real and all-consuming passion.  Recently though, I’ve found myself inspired by life itself, by the strength of love, by the enduring bonds of family, by the beauty that seems to abound in everyone I meet.  I don’t know if this will last.  This feeling of knowing that everything will be right in the world, that things may not be perfect now and they never will be, but that eventually, the imperfections won’t matter at all.

I thank the Lord for taking me on this journey.  It’s has been one thrilling adventure after another.  I haven’t been spared the hurts and tears that come with a journey but I have also been blessed with joyous moments and loving memories.  After 30 years, my heart is finally at peace. =) Indeed, life is beautiful.  =)

2 responses

  1. Thank you for reminding me of Helen Keller, many of her words were inspirational.

    September 5, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    • That’s so true. She didn’t let her disability get in the way of making a life for herself and for others. =) An amazing spirit.

      September 6, 2011 at 12:27 am

Leave a Reply

