A Retelling of Life

Life is a Marathon

“Running is the greatest metaphor for life, because you get out of it what you put into it.” – Oprah Winfrey

I remember Saturday mornings spent running from our high school to Capitolville and back.  I remember afternoons spent at the oval of our neighboring school (Yup, we had a tennis court and a softball field but NO oval..just showed you where track lay in the hierarchy of sports in our high school .. =). We didn’t let that get to us though.  We loved to run and that’s what mattered.

I remember my chest heaving heavily,cold beads of perspiration trickling by my forehead, my feet sprinting at the sound of the gun going off, the chill of the wind on my face.  I remember the soft cheering of my teammates (There weren’t so many people who’d stay behind to cheer us on , they’d usually go off to more “interesting” sports) and the swelling of pride that  came with crossing the finish line.

Unexpectedly, running is enjoying a renaissance.  It is finally getting the attention it deserves.  New runners have found out what the runners of old have always known, that there is a joy in running that other sports cannot bring.  Thus, there are organized runs held every month, in every major city of our country.

When you run, you run against yourself, you run to forget and to remember, you run against everything that is a mess in your life and for everything that is good and wonderful.  In running, there is freedom.   You are no one else but yourself.

My new life has given me the luxury of time to run and I am making the most of it.  I have finally reconnected with one of my old passions.  I pray that the Lord will lead to discover my other passions.  I have time…

Leave a Reply

