A Retelling of Life

Tips for a Beach Wedding – Part 1

A week ago, colleague’s daughter got married in Boracay.  I’m reminded of my own beach wedding and the purpose of this blog.  Considering how long it has been since I’ve written about planning a wedding, I’d be remiss in my duty as a would be “wedding blogger” if I don’t post a wedding related post soon.   After all, December’s coming–wedding high season.  Its high time that I get started blogging my tips for brides to be.

1.  Tone/Mood

Light and breezy, that’s what beach weddings are about. Thus, when planning a beach wedding, keep in mind that your guests just want to have fun.  Throw formality out of the window..and put on your gayest smile.  Except for the church ceremony, the cocktails and the reception should be a big party, a laidback celebration of love.

2.  Church Ceremony

If you’re getting married in the Holy Rosary Chapel, make arrangements with your florists to decorate the chapel’s door.  If you want to create the ethereal effect of a bride entering the church, you’ll have to have a white curtain cover the entrance.  The door of the chapel is quite heavy and closing the door before the bride enters. is not something even the strongest of men can manage without a squeak.  Besides, why have them go through all that trouble.  In my case, my friend Lore of “Chic and Choc’s Party Shop”, did a beautiful job of creating a simple curtain for me.  Jez, Jans, Dee and their significant others where there to make sure that the curtains opened for me at the right moment.  (As you may already have noticed, DIY weddings won’t be possible without the support of family and friends.)

3.  Transportation

Remember that there are no taxis or jeepneys in Boracay.  You take your pick between a trike and a walk to get where you want to go.  I walked to my wedding under the sweltering heat of sun but I got away with it because our resort was just in front of the Church.  Given the proximity of the church to Boracay Plaza Resort, we also didn’t have to arrange transportation for our guests.

Leave a Reply

