A Retelling of Life

The Week that Was

My whirlwind week started with a trip to Manila last October 16, 2011.  Taking my Mickey Mouse trolley on its first outing since I bought it on our “not so honeymoon” trip to Singapore, I flew to Manila to work on my papers for a possible new assignment.  I came back home on the 19th to prepare for our regional convention on the 20th and the 21st of October.  It was wonderful to do an emcee stint again.  It was exhilirating to host an organization that was so dynamic, where intermission acts and ice breakers came together on the day of convention,where  the city mayor just happened to send two separate representatives with 2 different speeches, where there was not just one but two Masskara opening numbers!   It was short of miraculous how together the convention seemed despite the “spur of the moment” planning.

I guess that’s what makes Bacolod a great host–the love for Bacolod inherent in every Bacolodnon.  Come crunch time, everybody just embraces the spirit of things and individual concerns are forgotten.  It was beautiful to see everyone working in harmony, making sure that all needs were met and going out of their way to make sure that the delegates would enjoy themselves. It is this love for our city that makes us, want them, the “tourists”, to see what we love about Bacolod too.  I got quite “high” from the experience.

On the afternoon of the 21st, I rushed to the pier to catch the latest trip to Iloilo in time for my Corporations in Distress class at 8:00 am on the 22nd.    During the next two days, I got to know FRIA or the Financial Rehabilitation and Insolvency Act of 2010.  An afternoon group activity got me into debate mode.   Six years–that’s how long it’s been since I’ve last debated before an audience.  I loved the rush of adrenalin running through my veins, the flurry of ideas passing through my mind.  At that moment, I said a silent prayer to the Lord, thanking him for leading hubby to enrol me in the program.

On Monday, (24) I rushed to Bacolod to work on the urgent tasks on my desks before rushing to catch the last ferry trip to Iloilo.  I had a 5:50 flight toManila to catch on the 25th and this, I did not want to miss.  Waking up to a hubby-prepared breakfast was a wonderful start to an early day of non-stop activity.  I flew ahead of hubby who had to get a later flight as he had a morning meeting to attend to.  With Dee, I explored the streets of Divisoria, taking in the sights, sounds and smells of various wares and merchandise and trying my best to control my Christmas spirit (!).

After we had our fill of Divi, I returned to our hotel to await hubby’s arrival from the airport.  It would be our first time to witness an international act perform..the BEP–no less.  We would be celebrating our 1 year anniversary in 2 months’ time and new priorities would have to be put in place.  This would be our last frivolous purchase for the next five years and hubby and I knew that we had to make it count.

Despite my aching legs (worn out from my Divi excursion), hubby and I along with some FFPs (“friends from the province”) danced the night away to the pulsating rhythm of the BEP.  My heart soared with pride when they showed Apl de Ap’s infomercial advocating the education of children.  I cried with Fergie when she spoke of missing “the brothers she never had”..I love the BEP because more than the beat, their music is positive and full of meaning.  They have made “helping others” cool..something that is quite a feat in the  often “selfish and egocentric” music industry.

As they said goodbye as the BEP for the last time, fireworks lit up the sky to signal the end to a wonderful celebration of the 10 years of BEP.

Leave a Reply

