A Retelling of Life

Who Am I

Restlessness.  This isn’t an entirely new feeling.  All through my life there have been moments when I’ve wondered “who am I”, when I’ve questioned the value of living, when I’ve felt a little lost.  The irony is that it is in these moments that I’ve felt closest to the Lord.

Earlier this evening, we began talking about a dear friend who passed away a few years ago.  In my restlessness, I remember him and the afternoons we spent talking about life and what we could all do to make a difference.  I was forever listless in college.  There was something that seemed missing in my life, I rushed from one activity to the other in a frenzied attempt to find meaning in my existence.  I always envied him the sense of peace he had about life.  He  lived exuberantly but with a simple grace that drew people in.  Whenever we talked, I felt renewed..somehow, I knew I had a lot to offer the world and that one day, I would find myself, become the person I was meant to be.

His greatest legacy to me was an mp3 track of a song he sent me through ym.  It has since become my battle cry.  Whenever I feel lost, I listen to this song and am comforted.  No matter what, the Lord loves me.  I trust in His plans for me.  With him, there is nothing I should fear.

“Who am I, that the Lord of all the earth
Would care to know my name,
Would care to feel my hurt?
Who am I, that the Bright and Morning Star
Would choose to light the way
For my ever wandering heart?

Not because of who I am,
But because of what You’ve done.
Not because of what I’ve done,
But because of who You are

[Chorus]
I am a flower quickly fading,
Here today and gone tomorrow,
A wave tossed in the ocean,
A vapor in the wind.
Still You hear me when I’m calling,
Lord, You catch me when I’m falling.
And You’ve told me who I am,
I am Yours.

Who am I, that the eyes that see my sin
Would look on me with love
And watch me rise again?
Who am I, that the voice that calmed the sea
Would call out through the rain
And calm the storm in me?

Not because of who I am,
But because of what You’ve done.
Not because of what I’ve done,
But because of who You are

Chorus

I am Yours.

I am Yours.
Whom shall I fear?
Whom shall I fear?
‘Cause I am Yours,
I am Yours.”

“Who Am I” by Casting Crows

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Rain on me « momentswithabba

  2. Lyn

    hello..i enjoy reading your blogs, specially the wedding. na inspired ako nga e push through ang plan namon nga boracay wedding. anyway, who did the church decor? you had a beautiful wedding, i hope i can make it with a limited budget.

    April 3, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    • Hello there! 🙂 Thanks for your comment. I’m glad this blog has helped. We had Florista’s (based in Dangwa and Boracay) do our church decor, the bouquet, etc. We decided on all white arrangement and kept to white flowers for a unified look. God bless and good luck with your wedding. =)

      April 4, 2012 at 1:56 am

Leave a Reply

