A Retelling of Life

Off to Dreamland

There’s this silent short cartoon that remains strongly entrenched in my memory. It begins with a little girl and a little boy sitting by a table with their mom. They’re in tattered clothes but they’re oblivious to their poverty. They heartily share a hard bun and dip it water, imagining the liquid to be milk while their mom worriedly looks on. They’re happy despite their circumstances.

Then the cartoon moves to a dream sequence. The children are seen walking on clouds and having their heart’s desires…

And then, my memory fails me. I can’t recall what happens next… I’ll have to search the net and hope someone uploaded that clip sometime ago.

The moral of the story remains with me though, we can’t let our circumstances defeat us. We are not what our circumstances make us.

Every man has the capacity to reach his dreams.  All it takes is faith, faith in God and faith in one’s self.
After all, life is a journey, a journey involving great leaps of faith.

2 responses

  1. nora g. alova

    Val, I really love this reflection. I feel blessed regardless of my circumstances. Life is indeed a pilgrimage and we experience so many obstacles on our way to our final destination which is Heaven.

    March 22, 2012 at 2:45 am

    • Hello My, Thanks guid. It just struck me one night just how blessed we are despite everything. Now, with the recent development, we have even more reasons to rejoice. The Lord never ceases to amaze me. God bless us always. 🙂 I’m really excited for the future.

      March 24, 2012 at 10:42 am

Leave a Reply

