A Retelling of Life

Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy

On this cold Saturday evening, I am on a date with myself.  The renovation of mom’s ancestral home is done and the rents are off to Bais for the blessing of the house.  I volunteered to accompany them but apparently the road trip to Bais won’t be good for me in my current condition.  Meanwhile, hubby has ER duty so he’s mandated that I stay home for the weekend.  Which reminds me, I’ll be needing a medical certificate to get on the fast craft next time.  Airlines and shipping companies are oh so careful these days.

I like the stillness of these moments.  I welcome the introspection that accompanies the silence, it’s like I’m a bystander in my own life, seeing it through the eyes of a stranger.  In my rush to meet deadlines, I  haven’t had much time to feel thankful..to be thankful.  I thank you Lord for helping me get through everyday.  I get a little exasperated at the clients at  times.  There are times when I don’t want to care, so I don’t have to try harder.  But I want to do good by them Lord and I thank you for giving me the strength to carry on.  I don’t know how I’m able to manage it all when all I seem to want to do at 6pm is sleep, when I’m always so exhausted..but somehow things are working out.  I know I owe it to You Lord.  Thank you for being there for me all day, all the time.

There’s so much I still have to do Lord, so much to learn.  “Oh that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” (Prayer of Jabez)  Thank you for a beautiful life Lord. Amen.

Leave a Reply

