A Retelling of Life

Adventures of a Non Cook

A week ago, I made Dad a pineapple ice box cake for Father’s Day.  =) I aced it.  Who wouldn’t? After all, it was a no bake, no cook recipe. Four hours after chilling, my family was already feasting on it.

This week, I’m working on making different kinds of spread.  It seems I haven’t been gaining weight and I am also anemic, a combination that won’t bode well for the baby in the long run.  So, necessity being the mother of invention, I am forced to become more creative.  Since I seem to have developed a kid’s appetite these days (the kind of “pida” kid I was, I was a picky eater.), I have to dupe myself into eating more.  I search for “food for picky eaters” and decide that sandwiches will do the trick.

I loved to eat cheese pimiento sandwiches.  All through out the day, I would visit the ref in between games, take out the jar where mom stored our homemade cheese pimiento spread and make myself sandwiches.  It’s funny how having a baby has brought back my old eating habits.  I am only able to eat half of every serving.  I’m even tempted to just swallow everything with a gulp of water as I used to do.

Side story: To get me and my sister to eat, mom and dad and our yaya made a contest of eating.  The first to finish her food would be the winner.  I knew I could never win against my sister, the voracious eater, so I had to adapt my own tactics.  Day after day, I won by downing all the food with water.  Eventually, I had to give up my position as top eater when I had to be rushed to the hospital for extreme indigestion.  Suffice it to say, that I will never try that strategy again. =)

I am left with having to plan my meals.  This is even more stressful than planning for hearings. Haha. =) Someday, I will learn to cook to my heart’s desires..someday..

6 responses

  1. Val, my Mama also makes homemade cheese pimiento. 🙂

    June 25, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    • Tried to make egg sandwich last night and I don’t think it turned out the way I imagined it but twas worth a try. Next up, cheese pimiento na. 🙂 Hope I’ll be able to make one as good as my mom’s. 🙂

      June 26, 2012 at 3:45 am

      • hahaha I have that feeling every time I cook macaroni salad. I can never get it right. Ang fool proof ko ya nga ginaluto is Beef Tapa. That one I can cook well. but I am never really good with baking or doing sandwich. 🙂 Dapat matuon na gid ta no kay wives na ta. 🙂

        June 26, 2012 at 2:10 pm

        • Do you have her recipe Nyss? Hehe. Mom can’t find hers na. Been googling but I haven’t found the right one yet. Wow!..beef tapa..I’m sure your family misses that guid. 🙂

          June 30, 2012 at 1:56 am

          • I will ask her. I haven’t really written the ingredients and instructions. Mama does not cook from recipes. hehehe

            June 30, 2012 at 2:06 am

            • Haha. Thanks Nyss…My mom keeps loads of them but can’t remember where she keeps it all.

              June 30, 2012 at 2:16 am

Leave a Reply

