A Retelling of Life

Final Stretch

I’m 30 weeks pregnant!  I imagine him raising his arms and legs, testing them out and discovering what he else he can already do.  Some days I wake up to his little kicks and say a little prayer of thanks to the Lord.  Indeed, pregnancy really is a training for motherhood.  This little baby  depends on me for everything he needs, he eats what I eat, drinks what I drink, listens to the same songs I listen to.  It will be much of the same thing for a number of years until he’ll be able to fend for himself.

I then wonder how people can still say that there is no Creator after witnessing this marvel of life but I digress. In any case, I am writing again because I have some time on my hands.  After my Tuesday check-up, my OB told me that I was having contractions.  Baby, it seems is quite excited to see the world.  I have 7 weeks to go til he reaches full term so that I have been put on two weeks of bed rest.  To be honest about it, I welcome this respite from work.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my job I really do.  Sometimes though it’s hard to stay optimistic when faced with clients who don’t seem to want to help themselves.  I’m hoping that the 2 weeks away from court will energize me, invigorate me and refresh my frustrated soul.  I pray to the Lord for guidance that I may do my job well and that in so doing I would be contributing to the greater good.  As defender of the accused, I pray that justice may be done, that the innocent be freed and the guilty punished.

As for the next twelve days, I have a lot of planning to do.  This time, I brought my printer home.  I’m giving myself til tomorrow to finish any work related tasks.  Come Saturday, I will start working on the things I have postponed since life got busy.

P.s. I worry too about my GDM (it really sucks having to have insulin twice a day and to monitor my blood sugar before/after every meal but I lift this up to the Lord.  I thank Him for a loving and supportive husband who seems to know how to assuage my fears. All things work out toward the good.  Thank you Lord.

One response

  1. hang in there Val. your little boy will be all worth the things you are going through right now. 🙂

    September 20, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

