A Retelling of Life

Me, a Homemaker?

When I was younger, when people asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I would always declare that I wanted to be a doctor.  Later on, heavy does of Indiana Jones movies convinced me that becoming an archaeologist was a better choice as it would mean going on exciting adventures everyday.

As fate would have it I became a lawyer.  I started out with a firm that specialized in corporate law, staying there for almost four years before I got tired of the “big city” and moved home to become a COC (an administrative job).  However, after about  2 years of passive lawyering, I realized that I missed litigation so I became a public attorney.

I’ve finally seemed to find a career that gives me the satisfaction I’ve been seeking.  I like that I have a direct hand in helping people.  I would like to think that in my small way I am making a difference.  I know though that I still have lots to learn but at least I am where I should be. =) 

Having found contentment with my career, my sights have now turned to one aspect of my personal development that I have largely ignored–homemaking.  The advent of pinterest and the rise of the homemaker bloggers has inspired a new generation of women (myself included) to realize that there is a certain joy that can be derived from creating things from scratch.  As soon as our little house is finished, I will have the opportunity to test my skills as a homemaker.  I can’t wait to make quiet books, to have DIY finishes on our house, to cook and bake.  I hope before the year ends, I would have at least one project completed among those I have pinned onto my “crafts” board over at pinterest.  

Indeed, there’s so much more we have to discover about ourselves.  Yes to life. =) 

2 responses

  1. I find it amazing how we both have Crafts board. We have moved in to our new townhouse. I can’t wait to go home and start doing DIY decoration too.

    September 26, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    • So, you’re going back home soon! =) Btw, I found you on pinterest and am following you. Good luck to our inner homemakers..may they finally see the light. Hehe.

      September 27, 2012 at 2:28 am

Leave a Reply

