A Retelling of Life

Becoming The Uncommon Reader

The Uncommon Reader

“The Uncommon Reader” is the first book I’ve heartily enjoyed in ages.  I found myself laughing out loud at the awkward reactions of Her Majesty’s staff to the Queen’s sudden love for reading.  Since Ethan, I haven’t really had the time to read for myself.  I’ve read tons of children’s stories and parenting how to’s but I haven’t gotten stuck in a book as I often was in the good old days.   The Uncommon Reader brought me back to that place, that magical space where only you and your imagination exist.  Indeed, “A book is a device to ignite the imagination.”

And so I’ve decided to resume my reading again.  After all, as noted by the queen, “Books are not about passing time. They’re about other lives. Other worlds. Far from wanting time to pass, one just wishes one had more of it. If one wanted to pass the time one could go to New Zealand.”  Happy Reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

