A Retelling of Life

I’ll Love You Forever

“I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living my baby you’ll be.” Robert Munsch

Tonight, I arrived home from work pretty exhausted. I had a whole morning full of hearings and an afternoon spent preparing a position paper. There was just so much more that needed to be done. Work does get overwhelming sometimes. I have another round of hearings tomorrow and I am weary just thinking about it.

I get home and go straight to baby Ethan’s room. He looks so peaceful in his sleep, like he’s resting on clouds and walking on rainbows. I gaze at him and catch him smiling just as if he’s seeing fluffy dogs and adorable cats – seeing the kind of things beautiful dreams are made of. The weariness is lifted off my shoulders. I am reminded of how rich and wonderful the world is. Indeed, how wonderful or miserable your life is depends on your perspective.

I realize how shallow I was to complain about work. I am blessed to have a job where I am paid to help people. I have a little boy who looks at me like I am the world to him. I have a hubby who keeps encouraging me to go biking/swimming and running with him (because it just is so much fun to do all these strenuous activities…(hehe). In other words, I am loved…

I say a quick word of thanks to the Lord for the reminder. I have so many concerns but my God so much bigger. I cast all my cares upon Him. Tonight, I will sleep well. He will take care of me and of my problems just as He has done my entire life. I have nothing to fear.

Leave a Reply

